Good Press, Bad Press?

I appreciate the frequency with which the NY Times has been covering Lyme Disease, but I wish that would do some more fact checking.

I love the tone of this blog post, written by Hope Reeves. — Yes! Take this seriously. But there’s so information missing that is critical if you want to keep your family safe, and to make sure those who get infected don’t have life long damage from these illnesses. Remember, I was undertreated. I passed lyme to my kids. My serious health issues didn’t debilitate me for 20 years. Know the facts and the theories if you or your family members get the “flu” this summer.

TREATMENT: It horrifies me when all the press that’s coming out this year talks about antibiotics treatment for 2 – 4 weeks for an adult or child. What kind of untrained doctor are these people seeing? Even my family practice doctor treats for a minimum of 6 weeks. Most docs who have any education at all in Lyme Disease will treat for 2 months past the last symptoms. TWO MONTHS.

RASHES: And, the whole rash issue just chaps my ass (pun intended). There are so few rashes. I had a rash that was diagnosed as an allergy to the nickel in my jeans. In 1986, it was a dermatological issue. Even though it was a bullseye.

LOCATION: The focus on the Northeast as primary might make people in other parts of the county feel like they are safe. Not true. I know whole families getting tick bites in Northern California, Florida and all of the country (and beyond).

TRANSMISSION TIME: We focus on Lyme, but we don’t know the transmission time for other tick borne illnesses, and if you are one of the few people these days who gets LYME only from a dirty tick, you should start playing the lottery, because it is VERY rare to have just that illness. And the most traditional doctors admit that Babesiosis needs at LEAST 6 weeks of treatment.

DEER aren’t the only ones to blame: We have to stop blaming the deer. Two of the most common transportation methods for deer ticks? Not the deer but birds and the white footed mouse. And we need more research into mosquitos as vectors. My son had a Bartonella re-infection that was thought to be from a mosquito. And let me remind you, you don’t want your kids to get Bartonella.

So, no matter where you live, even in an urban apartment, if you get ANY flu like symptoms in the summer, just assume it’s a tick borne illness and find a doctor that will treat you properly. Don’t trust that your family doctor has the education YOU need.

I hope the NY Times Motherlode blog and other high profile mama bloggers do some deeper digging so we can protect all kids better.

 

 

3 responses to “Good Press, Bad Press?

  1. Stephen Buhner’s book “Healing Lyme” is a fantastic resource.

  2. Cameron Von St James

    Hey I have a quick question about your blog, could you email me when you have a chance? Thanks! -Cam

Leave a Reply

