Dad! There are ants all over my bed!

Common theme since Finn started treated.  Ants in the bed.  He talks about them incessantly some days.  Last night, when hubby was getting home from his shift at 1 am, Finn woke up and asked him to get the ants out of the bed.

He has been in our bed often since he started the amoxicillan.  I wonder if his night terrors will be less severe than mine because he is so young.  Mine have been awful over the years.  I dreamt about best selling novelists, former employers, squirrels eating my head, the ceiling falling onto me.  I wake screaming, he just knows they are there.  Sometimes he wakes up and asks his brother, “What am I supposed to do next?”  We tell him to go to sleep and hope there are no more late-night wakings.

Doesn’t it seem like there should be a better way to heal?

It reminds me of when my Dad was dying and he would grasp in the air for non-existent objects, or hand me imaginary beverages to hold for him.  I got to where I would just take them from him and smile.  I would have done anything for him, and I’ll do anything for my boys.  Tonight, I’ll keep the shovel handy.  Never know what I might have to get out of their beds.

Leave a Reply

