My About Me. .

Felt like re-publishing this as its own post.

When my mom was sick with breast cancer, my dad, who had died 11 years previous, came to her in a dream. He said, “This isn’t a walk in the park.” It turns out she actually had a tumor in her pancreas, and treatment from the breast cancer caused a metastasis of that cancer. She wanted to find a deeper meaning in all of her visits from my dad, and in her illness.

Now, it is my turn to find the deeper meanings. And to understand why I wasn’t given a clean, clear, sunny walk in the park. My turn to define what it means to be me. I’m a woman. A mother. A daughter. A Creative Being with hopes and dreams. I was bit by a tick in 1985, my senior year of college(and some before and after, I’m sure) and it changed the course of my life. Now, as a parent of two children with congenital lyme, I have to re-define myself. I’m not a lyme warrior. I’m not an advocate. I don’t want to be defined by my illness AND I don’t want to deny it. I’ve had friends ignore me, had family members turn their backs and I’ve found true sisters who understand me even through my illness, and even though our history to date is short. I don’t want to live in my loss, AND I want to build and plan a future. Walk with me as I explore.

There's only us
There's only this
Forget regret-- or life is yours to miss.
No other road
No other way
No day but today

There's only yes
Only tonight
We must let go
To know what is alright
No other course
No other way
No day but today

I can't control
My destiny
I trust my soul
My only hope
is just to be

There's only now
There's only here
Give in to love
Or live in fear
No other path
No other way
No day but today
From "Rent"
One response to “My About Me. .

  1. All your posts are making me cry.

Leave a Reply

