What Does it Mean to show up for a screening of Under Our Skin?

Tonight, there was a showing of the Award winning Film at my local Movie night. The fabulous woman who runs “movie night” wanted to show this to honor my family and our struggle, but she did so much more than that.

This is the night that many restaurants in my city participate in Dine Out For Life! By eating out at your favorite establishments, a portion of your meal price is donated to this organization. The restaurant my husband works at was donating to The Aliveness Project. Fabulous organization. Fabulous cause.

In his book, Healing Lyme Disease Naturally, Wolf Storl compares what’s going on with Lyme Disease with what happened in the 80’s with AIDS.

I look forward to the day that Lyme Disease, and all the wicked co-infections and opportunistic infections that find their way into our already sick bodies can be as visible, as supported and as understood as AIDS/HIV.

I’m not saying I want LESS support to go to AIDS/HIV. Look at all that has been done in the past 20+ years! I just want, for my kids’ sake, to have the light shine on the fastest growing infection in the world. I can’t wait for twenty years.

My son saw the film for the first time, tonight. He looked at me with pain in his eyes when the little boy says something about just wanting to be normal. I just want my kid’s illnesses to start being understood. AIDS awareness and support grew one moment at a time. And Lyme awareness grows one moment at a time as well.

A showing here, an article there. It doesn’t move fast because so many of us have the desire, but not the energy, the want, but not the will. This disease has robbed us of so much, so it becomes the friends and the neighbors and the people in charge of the Movie Nights that keep it going.

From the bottom of my heart, I thank you, Eastside Co-op, for advancing Lyme Disease Awareness. And thank you to the people at the showing for just showing up. Even if you attended because you were curious, or because you knew someone with lyme, I believe you were there for me. And my family.

Lyme Disease: It’s bigger than the warning on the bug spray can.

One response to “What Does it Mean to show up for a screening of Under Our Skin?

  1. Thank you for reminding me that we each can promote awareness with just a simple showing of “Under Our Skin”. I tell anyone who asks me about my chronic illness that I have late-stage Lyme Disease, probably for more than 20 years, that I’m lucky because I have been able to manage the symptoms mostly fairly well, that we do not know all the disease vectors yet, or modes of transmission, that I may have indeed caught it in a medical lab on Long Island, back in the early years of so-called “Montauk Disease”. That our partners and our children are most definitely at risk, and that I take conscious precautions about sharing anything with others, just to be careful.

    I am continually astonished, especially here in the SE US, how many people tell me that they have a family member already disabled with Lyme, i.e., bedridden, unable to work, dependent upon family members for major support.

    Let’s hope these turn out to be the dark days of Lyme, and that many small lights of sharing will create a dazzling future of knowledge, acceptance, support, and treatment.

Leave a Reply

